Hear Rik Emmett&#039s New Song, &quotHuman Race,&quot Featuring Rush&#039s Alex Lifeson

Today, GuitarWorld.com presents the exclusive premiere of “Human Race,” a galloping new song by longtime Triumph guitarist Rik Emmett and his band, RESolution9. The track is from their new album, RES 9, which will be released November 11 through Provogue Records, an imprint of Mascot Label Group.

Greatest of all, the song features additional fretwork by Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson.

“The thought behind ‘Human Race’ and a lot of the songs on the album was to figure out who I am and why I’m undertaking what I’m doing,” Emmett says. “I’ve been about the block a handful of occasions, but one particular of the factors I like about these lyrics is when we get to the last verse, and it says, ‘I’m nonetheless this guy. I nevertheless live this.’ And I consider that is extremely correct. There’s also a line in there about raising a joyful noise—and I nonetheless want to do that as well.”

Lifeson added some period-excellent 12-string guitar components alongside Emmett and RESolution9’s Dave Dunlop.

“When Rik asked me to play on his new album, I didn’t hesitate for a second,” Lifeson says. “He’s the consummate musician, a fantastic guitarist and a terrific particular person, and it’s often my pleasure to function with him any possibility I can get. There is a rock purity in his songwriting and overall performance, and it’s just so much enjoyable to get collectively and throw suggestions around. He’s always so up and open for anything—even a notoriously uncooperative Rickenbacker 12-string!” ds

Alex Lifeson and Rick Emmett. Photo: Mark Weiss

“Human Race” is a fitting introduction to the 11 deeply heartfelt songs on RES 9, which veer from the testifying tones of “My Cathedral” to the whispering blues of “The Ghost of Shadow Town” to the cutting-heads guitar duels on “End of the Line.” Moreover, “Grand Parade” reunites Emmett with his Triumph bandmates, bassist Mike Levine and drummer Gil Moore, recalling the distinctive intimate feel of Triumph’s “Suitcase Blues,” which Emmett continues to carry out solo.

“The context of this entire album for me was, ‘Wow, somebody tossed me a lifeline’,” Emmitt says. “I nonetheless want to make good music and offer individuals anything that is motivating and inspiring—and I want to do it for myself also. I require music, and music can provide that lifeline for me.”

RESolution9 characteristics Emmett’s touring trio: Dunlop on guitar, Steve Skingley on bass and Paul DeLong on drums. Dunlop and Skingley co-created RES 9 with Emmett.

Below, you can verify out “Human Race,” the band’s upcoming shows, the new album-cover art and a video trailer for RES 9.

Starting right now (September 27), when fans order RES 9 by means of iTunesthey’ll get “Human Race” as an immediate download. The album also is accessible here.

Confirmed Rik Emmett and RESolution9 appearances:

10/14    Londonberry, NH                Tupelo Music Hall
10/15    Londonberry, NH                Tupelo Music Hall
11/03    Chicago, IL                    City Winery
11/04    Milwaukee, WI                Shank Hall
11/26    Mississauga, ON                Living Arts Centre
12/02    New Hope, PA                Havana New Hope
12/03    Philadelphia, PA                Tin Angel


Guitar World

Metallica Premiere New Song &quotHardwired&quot and Announce Information of Upcoming Album

Metallica’s new album will come out November 18 and will be a double disc.

Titled Hardwired…to Self Destruct, the album will function 12 news songs, including “Hardwired,” which you can hear under.

The band gave “Hardwired” its debut in a Facebook Live broadcast, shown below, from Metallica HQ in San Francisco. Drummer Lars Ulrich and bassist Robert Trujillo spoke about the new disc, with Ulrich noting, “The album’s not actually completed. It will be completed in the subsequent week or so.” Ulrich also announced a Metallica pop-up store occasion in Minneapolis, where they are playing a concert this Saturday.


Hardwired…to Self Destruct is the adhere to-up to 2008’s Death Magnetic. The album will be sold in a variety of formats, like regular and deluxe CDs, vinyl and digital. A box-set edition with the deluxe versions of the CD, vinyl and digital as effectively as lithographs and LP-themed buttons will also be offered.

The complete track list for the album and deluxe editions is beneath the video.

Hardwired…to Self-Destruct Track List

Disc 1
1. “Hardwired”
2. “Atlas, Rise!”
three. “Now That We’re Dead”
4. “Moth into Flame”
5. “Am I Savage?”
6. “Halo on Fire”

Disc Two
1. “Confusion”
two. “Dream No More”
three. “ManUNkind”
four. “Here Comes Revenge”
5. “Murder One”
6. “Spit Out the Bone”

Disc 3 (Deluxe Edition only)
“Lords Of Summer”
“Riff Charge (Riff Origins)”
“N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)”
“Tin Shot (Riff Origins)”
“Plow (Riff Origins)”
“Sawblade (Riff Origins)”
“RIP (Riff Origins)”
“Lima (Riff Origins)”
“91 (Riff Origins)”
“MTO (Riff Origins)”
“RL72 (Riff Origins)”
“Frankenstein (Riff Origins)”
“CHI (Riff Origins)”
“X Dust (Riff Origins)”

Guitar World